Artist: The Planet Wilson

by on 13th October 2016


Years Active:

1985 – 1989


Hallam Lewis (guitar / vocals)
Lou Duffy-Howard (bass)
Grant Ardis (drums)

Jonah Lacey-Hatton (drums)
James Gillespie (sax / keys)


The Planet Wilson were an indie rock band from Hull formed in 1985 by two former Red Guitars band members, Hallam Lewis (guitar and vocals) and Lou Duffy-Howard (bass). Described by Sounds’ David Cavanagh as “Crazy James Chance meets Holger Czuklay’ they were signed to Virgin Records and released two albums in the late 1980s. They were joined by Grant Ardis and latterly for gigs by drummer Jonah Lacey-Hatton, sax and keyboard player James Gillespie and guests.

In 1988 they released the album In the Best of All Possible Worlds (produced by Steve Nye for Virgin Records) on which, according to Trouser Press, “…the three band members occasionally seem to be playing different songs”. In 1989 their second album Not Drowning But Waving was released on Records Of Achievement. With a cut out album sleeve raised from the fiery depths by Demon O’Connor, Trouser Press described the album as “uncommon pop music with claws”.

In late 2017 the band announced via their website, “imminent re-releases with digital distribution through the planet Earth” – more news on that as it comes.

(Lou Duffy-Howard / Hull Music Archive)


(Full details to follow)


In The Best Of All Possible Worlds (LP, Cassette, CD) – Virgin Records, 1988

Not Drowning But Waving (LP, CD) – Records Of Achievement, 1989


White Lies (7″ / 12″) – Virgin Records, 1988

Taken For A Ride (7″ / 12″) – Virgin Records, 1988

Fly By Night (7″ / 12″) – Records Of Achievement, 1989



*NEW* Official Website –