Artist: Ronno

by on 13th October 2019

Years Active



Benny Marshall (vocals)
Mick Ronson (guitar)
Tony Visconti (bass)
Woody Woodmansey (drums)

About Ronno

Ronno was a shortlived vehicle for three members of Bowie’s backing band The Hype – Mick Ronson, Tony Visconti and Mick “Woody” Woodmansey – with ex-Rats frontman Benny Marshall recruited on vocal duties.

Their solitary release was the outstanding “4th Hour Of My Sleep”, written by US singer/songwriter Tucker Zimmerman. The song is backed by a surprisingly heavy number, “Powers Of Darkness”, composed by Marshall / Ronson and musically more akin to the likes of Black Sabbath / Led Zeppelin than the steady blues rock of the A-side. Sadly the single wasn’t a success and failed to chart. “Ronno” ceased to be, though of course Ronson, Woodmansey and Visconti all continued to work together alongside David Bowie.

The Ronno single is now pretty hard to find and in vinyl collector singles commands prices upwards of £30 for the standard UK issue. It was also released in Germany, Denmark, Turkey, Norway and as a promo single in the US.


4th Hour Of My Sleep (7″) – Vertigo, Jan 1971