Artist: The Gold Needles

by on 8th November 2017


Years Active:

2015 – present


Simon Dowson (vocals / guitar)
Dave Burbage (lead guitar)
Carl Slaughter (bass / backing vocals)
Justin Davidson (drums)
Mark English (keyboards / percussion / backing vocals)


Originally formed as a studio project, The Gold Needles eventually expanded to become a full live band. Comprising of Simon Dowson (vocals and guitar), Dave Burbage (lead guitar), Mark English (keyboards, percussion and backing vocals), Carl Slaughter (bass and backing vocals) and Justin Davidson (drums) the band have been writing and recording since 2015 although friendships go back much further than that. The band revel in being eclectic both in influence and output though they are pleased with comparisons made with Be Bop Deluxe and The Church.

2016 saw the release on limited edition 5″ split vinyl on the cult Fruits De Mer record label of “First Sunrise” and also “Surfing The Night Wave” which appeared on the same label’s festival compilation CD. In the Autumn of the same year “My Summer’s Angel” reached the number one slot on Hull Kingston Radio’s Humber Number One show.

Further recording continued and a cover of an obscure Monkees track, “The Poster”, was used on the digital version of 7a Records’ Monkees tribute album, Listen To The Bands.

UK Rock Radio have used hipster Astro instrumental “Service With A Smile” to close many of its shows following its release on 2017’s 16th Dream of Dr Sardonicus festival CD. Again on Fruits De Mer Records, the label also asked to use a cover of “Smell Of Incense” on a double album vinyl release in 2018. TBM Records in Canada requested a track for a forthcoming Adrian Borland/The Sound tribute album released in 2018 and were provided with a contemporary version of “Counting The Days”.

In the Summer of 2017 the band released “Not Tonight Josephine” c/w “Eventide” on limited edition lathe cut clear vinyl 7 inch to favourable reviews, including in the prestigious Record Collector magazine.

Activity continued with the band’s full live debut supporting powerpop outfit Duncan Reid and The Big Heads in October 2017.

Second album Through A Window appeared via the US label Jem Records in July 2019, with third long player What’s Tomorrow Ever Done For You? dropping in early 2021.



Pearls (CD) – Kool Kat Music, Mar 2018

Pearls (LP) – Spin-It!, Sep 2018

Through A Window (CD) – Jem Records, Jul 2019

What’s Tomorrow Ever Done For You? (LP, CD) – Jem Records, Feb 2021


First Sunrise (split 5″ clear vinyl) – Friends Of The Fish / Fruits De Mer, Aug 2016

Not Tonight Josephine (lathe cut 7″ clear vinyl) – Exquisite Noise, Jul 2017

Smell Of Incense (lathe cut 7″) – Friends Of The Fish / Fruits De Mer, 2018

Appears On

The 14th Dream Of Dr. Sardonicus (CD) – Fruits De Mer, 2016 (track: Surfing The Night Wave)

The 16th Dream Of Dr. Sardonicus (CD) – Fruits De Mer, 2016 (track: Service With A Smile)

Jem Records Celebrates John Lennon (LP) – Jem Records, Oct 2020 (tracks: No Reply and Hey Bulldog / Cold Turkey)